Senior Chiefs

Travis Hughes

Regulatory Division Chief

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District
Published Jan. 20, 2016

Travis Hughes became the Regulatory Division Chief for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District in November 2015.  Prior to that, he had served as the Deputy Chief of the Regulatory Division since April 2006. In his current position, he is responsible for the administration and enforcement of USACE’s Regulatory program in the state of South Carolina.

Before assuming the positions above, Hughes was the Chief of Permits Evaluation Branch in the Charleston District, Regulatory Division. Prior to that, he was a senior project manager in the Regulatory Division. He has supervised a team of professional, clerical and DA intern staff, and administered all aspects of leading a Regulatory Division. Over the years, he has hired, trained and produced strong leaders in the Regulatory Program. He has personally managed and evaluated numerous complex projects, including mining, dredging, coastal and inland marinas, beach nourishment, port projects, utilities, water supply, transportation (highway, airport, rail), industry, and large commercial and residential developments. He is a subject matter expert on the 404(b)(1) guidelines, NEPA and preparing Environmental Impact Statements. He actively participates on the SAD Regional Regulatory Counsel (RRC) providing guidance and assistance needed to shape the regulatory program both regionally and nationally. A forestry graduate from Clemson University, Hughes began his career with the Corps in 1994 as a co-op student in the Wilmington District where he worked on various aspects of managing a Corps’ lake project. Upon graduation, he accepted a position as a park ranger and worked at several other Corps lakes throughout the Southeast.

Hughes’ honors and awards include: Commanders Award for Extraordinary Achievement 2002; Achievement Medal for Civilian Service, October 2008; Achievement Medal for Civilian Service, October 2009; Supervisor of the Year 2010.